Facebook Pixel45 – 'Never Built New York' authors Greg Goldin and Sam Lubell | Archinect Sessions One-to-One | Podplay
Go to podcast
by Paul Petrunia & Amelia Taylor-Hochberg
Archinect Sessions One-to-One

45 – 'Never Built New York' authors Greg Goldin and Sam Lubell

Description

Never Built New York, by curators and authors Greg Goldin and Sam Lubell, is an astounding collection of architectural projects that never made it into being. The book features projects from the last two centuries, sited all throughout the five boroughs, that range from the monumental to the mortifying. Alongside infamous projects like Buckminster Fuller’s dome over Manhattan and Frank Lloyd Wright’s Key Plan for Ellis Island, visions for an alternate New York-urbanism abound: aborted reflections of their time, place and politics.

The book continues in the tradition of Goldin and Lubell's 2013 exhibition, "Never Built Los Angeles", including focused research on each project alongside gorgeous drawings and visualizations. I spoke with the authors about their curatorial approach to the book, and the projects that they were most excited by.

Details

Episode

by Paul Petrunia & Amelia Taylor-Hochberg