Go to podcast
by Mphasis Stelligent
DevOps on AWS Radio

Ep. 28 Kinnaird McQuade - Policy Sentry and Cloudsplaining, Stelligent Book Club (Episode 28)

Description

In this episode, Kinnaird McQuade, Lead Cloud Security Engineer at Salesforce, joins us to talk about his tools Cloudsplaining and Policy Sentry. Policy Sentry provides a framework for writing IAM policies to make it easier to create least privilege policies. Cloudsplaining can help find policies that may allow more access than required.
Keith Monihen joins hosts Scott Alexander and Shaug Evans this episode to talk about the Stelligent book club and how it helps create a culture of learning and shared connection among employees.

For full episode details, visit https://stelligent.com/blog/

Episode Notes

Hosted by Scott Alexander (@salexpdx) and Shaug Evans (@ohshaughnessy)
Interview Guest: Kinnaird McQuade @kmcquade3
Stelligent Guest: Keith Monihen @KeithMonihen


Episode Timeline
00:00 Podcast Introduction and welcome
01:00 Kinnaird McQuade interview
28:15 Discussion of Interview with Scott, Shaug, and Keith
33:00 Recent Blog Post
36:50 Stelligent Book Club
48:00 Closing Contact Information

Relevant Links
CloudSplaining https://cloudsplaining.readthedocs.io/en/latest/
Policy Sentry https://policy-sentry.readthedocs.io/en/latest/
Kinnaird McQuade Website https://kmcquade.com/
Open Source at Salesforce https://opensource.salesforce.com/
Salesforce Careers https://www.salesforce.com/company/careers/
AWS Nuke - https://github.com/rebuy-de/aws-nuke
Cloud Custodian - https://cloudcustodian.io/
Cloud Tracker - https://github.com/duo-labs/cloudtracker


Blog posts:
Trend Micro Smart Scan: https://stelligent.com/2020/05/22/is-my-container-image-secure-ci-cd-container-scanning-using-trend-micro-deep-security-smart-check-and-aws-codepipeline/
Amazon Inspector Introduction: https://stelligent.com/2020/05/08/introduction-to-amazon-inspector/
Implementing Amazon Inspector in Automated AMI Pipelines: https://stelligent.com/2020/05/08/implementing-amazon-inspector-in-automated-ami-pipelines/
CFN Leaprog: https://stelligent.com/2020/05/15/generating-least-privileged-iam-roles-for-cloudformation-and-service-catalog-with-cfn-leaprog/
Paul Duvall’s Forbes Article: https://www.forbes.com/sites/forbestechcouncil/2020/05/01/exponential-cloud-security/

Books:

The Year without Pants - https://www.amazon.com/Year-Without-Pants-WordPress-com-Future-ebook/dp/B00DVJXI4M
People Centric Security - https://www.amazon.com/People-Centric-Security-Transforming-Enterprise-Culture-ebook/dp/B015EZ2PT4
Accelerate - https://www.amazon.com/Accelerate-Software-Performing-Technology-Organizations-ebook/dp/B07B9F83WM
Clean Code - https://www.amazon.com/Clean-Code-Handbook-Software-Craftsmanship-ebook/dp/B001GSTOAM
Clean Architecture - https://www.amazon.com/Clean-Architecture-Craftsmans-Software-Structure-ebook/dp/B075LRM681


Intro/Outtro music - Atmosphere by Mi77er
https://soundcloud.com/mi77ermusic/atmosphere-original-mix-progressive-ambient-house

Details

Episode

by Mphasis Stelligent