Go to podcast
by ASA, CSSA, SSSA
Field, Lab, Earth

Regenerative Agriculture and The Living Soil Handbook with Jesse Frost

Description

The Living Soil Handbook with Jesse Frost.

Regenerative agriculture focuses on improving soil health by disturbing the soil as little as possible, keeping the ground covered as much as possible, and keeping the ground planted as much as possible. In this episode, farmer Jesse Frost of the No-Till Market Garden podcast walks us through these three tenets, how they can help farmers, and how researchers and growers can better connect.

Tune in to learn:

  • How we can better define tillage
  • Why farming is like a choose-your-own adventure
  • How these three tenets can help improve soil health
  • How researchers can better communicate their research

If you would like more information about this topic, Jesse’s book is available here: https://www.chelseagreen.com/product/the-living-soil-handbook/

Use discount code POD35 for 35% off.

If you would like to find transcripts for this episode or sign up for our newsletter, please visit our website: http://fieldlabearth.libsyn.com/

Contact us at podcast@sciencesocieties.org or on Twitter @FieldLabEarth if you have comments, questions, or suggestions for show topics, and if you want more content like this don’t forget to subscribe.

If you would like to reach out to Jesse, you can find him here:
notillgrowers@gmail.com
www.Notillgrowers.com
www.Instagram.com/notillgrowers

Resources

CEU Quiz: https://www.certifiedcropadviser.org/education/classroom/classes/1019

No-Till Market Growers: www.Notillgrowers.com

No-Till Market Garden Podcast: https://www.notillgrowers.com/podcast

No-Till Flowers Podcast: https://www.notillgrowers.com/new-page-4

Winter Growers Podcast: https://www.notillgrowers.com/winter-growers-podcast

The Collaborative Farming Podcast: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-collaborative-farming-podcast/id1570007965

No-Till Growers YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLhu5JoRWPgEGDoUFfQHTPQ

Gardening for Business podcast (I think you mentioned a resource like this, but I couldn’t figure out if it’s a podcast, book, etc. or just a general category of thing to look at. Please let me know if there’s a link or not.

Farmer 2 Farmer podcast: https://www.farmertofarmerpodcast.com/

Regenerative Agriculture Podcast: http://regenerativeagriculturepodcast.com/

Nutrition Farming Podcast: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/nutrition-farming-podcast/id1500903366

Jeff Moyer, Rodale Institute: https://rodaleinstitute.org/about/staff/

Charles Dowding: https://charlesdowding.co.uk/

Charles Dowding YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCB1J6siDdmhwah7q0O2WJBg

Richard Perkins, Ridgedale Farm: https://www.ridgedalepermaculture.com/about-us.html

Richard Perkins YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/mrintegralpermanence

Daniel Mays, Frith Farm: https://www.frithfarm.net/crew.html

Singing Frogs Farm: http://singingfrogsfarm.com/

Scholarly Kitchen Jargon article: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2021/06/18/jargon/

Chelsea Green Publishing: https://www.chelseagreen.com/

Sponsored by Gasmet Technologies. Gasmet Technologies range of portable analyzers are used for environmental research measuring CO2, CH4, N2O, NH3 & H2O gas fluxes simultaneously at sub-ppm levels. Check out www.gasmet.com for more information and to request a quotation.

Sponsored by METER Group. METER sensors deliver real-time, plant, soil, and atmospheric data that fuels environmental research. Listen to their new podcast We Measure the World to hear how innovative researchers leverage environmental data to make our world a better—and more sustainable—place at metergroup.com/fieldlabearth.

Field, Lab, Earth is copyrighted to the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America.

Details

Episode 63

by ASA, CSSA, SSSA